Our team

Amanda Sonesson


Co-founder and editor-in-chief. Based in Sweden. Currently combing work as a freelance analyst focused on Russian politics and economy and heading a Stockholm-based academy for young, politically engaged people. Main area of interest includes everything gender, culture and civil society in Russia and Central Asia.

Laura Royer


Co-founder. Currently based in Brussels, after spending a couple of years in Budapest. Mostly interested in Central and Eastern Europe. Also follows EU politics.

Francis Farrell


Managing Editor. Budapest-based master’s student of politics and security, wanderer, and enthusiast photographer interested in elections, frozen conflicts, protest movements, and media in post-communist Europe.

Tijs van de Vijver


Newsletter lead editor. MA graduate of International Relations and Russia & Eurasian Studies at Leiden University. Interested in questions of energy, nationalism & nation-building, civil liberties, and Chinese presence in the wider post-Soviet space.

Owen Howells


Baltics and Balkan regional editor. Based in the UK/Estonia. A history nerd with a penchant for Interbellum regional geopolitics. Additionally, a background in researching the viability of de-facto Independent States.

Rhiannon Segar


Caucasus regional editor. Rhiannon Segar is a Masters student in the IMCEERES program, where she specializes in the Caucasus region. Her research focuses on informality and community resilience during the COVID-19 pandemic in Georgia. Her interests include civil society, LGBTQ+ and gender rights, democratization and state-building across the post-Soviet space.

Sydney Millar


Central Asia regional editor. Currently based in Virginia. Interested in topics relating to gender, politics, and contemporary art in Central Asia and Russia. Currently focusing on women’s rights in Kazakhstan.

Nicholas Morgan


Central Europe regional editor. Freelance journalist currently based in the United States. Interested in Russia’s influence in the region, security, and history.

Chris Colijn


Eastern Europe regional editor. MA in Russian Studies from Leiden University, currently working as a tutor at BA International Studies based in The Hague. Interested in the intersection of culture, politics, and society in Eastern Europe, with a focus on the development of Ukrainian national identity.

Zack Kramer


Russia Regional Editor. Zack is based in Prague, a PhD student and research fellow. He is a specialist in the political economy of Russia and Ukraine, generally interested in trade, security, history, culture, and demography in the former Soviet Union.

Maja Soomägi


Digital Media Officer. Maja Soomägi is a final year Central and East European Studies and Politics undergraduate student at the University of Glasgow. Academic interests include the social history of Central and Eastern Europe, political thought, and memory studies.

Teet Ottin


Digital media officer. Currently a Master’s student in Contemporary History at the University of Sussex. Originally from Estonia and a graduate of the University of Tartu in German Language and History. His research interests include the deconstruction of historical narratives and the evolution of Human Rights.

Chaharika Uppal

Newsletter co-editor. Student, currently based in Northern India. Interested in Eurasian history, contemporary post-Soviet politics, and conflict regions.

Agnieszka Widlaszewska

Newsletter co-editor. Luxembourg-based political scientist-turned-auditor, passionate about the topics of European security and EU external action, in particular the European Neighbourhood Policy and EU-Russia relations.

James Davies

Editor and proofreader. Former vice president of the Association of Foreign Affairs in Lund and a current member of the Swedish Civil Society Network for Eastern Partnership Countries and Russia.

Katherine Leung

Editor and proofreader. A California based educator. As a 2014 Fulbright grant recipient, she taught English in the Russian cities of Samara, Kyzyl, Ulan-Ude, and Nakhodka. She is interested in Central Asian culture and identity.

Hanna Hodgetts 

Visual Curator. Hanna Hodgetts is a recent graduate from UCL, where she holds a BA in French and Russian. She currently interns at the Dutch newspaper Trouw, supporting the newspaper in its coverage of Russia, Eastern Europe and the Caucasus. Her interests include Orthodox Christianity in the Post-Soviet region, historical myth-making and the links between politics and religion. In her spare time, she enjoys watching a good Russian arthouse film.


Agnieszka Zielonka, Aida Akhmedova, Aizada Arystanbek, Alexandra Slobodov, Alexandra Wishart, Ana Robakidze, Anastasia Korogodova, Anastasia Dmitrichenko, Anastasia Karkotskaya, Anastasiya K, Anita Pant, Anna Blue, Augusto Dala Costa, Balsa Lubarda, Ben Halliday, Bozho Kolov, Catalina Ceban, Ceren Kaya, Charles Fourmi, David Živković, Ellen Magee, Elise Mazaud, Emma Lygnerud Boberg, Eva Modebadze, Evguenia Roussel, Felipe Barrientos, Felix Adamson, Florian Coppenrath, Francesco Trupia, Georgie McCartney, Giorgi Benashvili, Hamed Kazemzadeh, Hanna Boiko, Hugo Blewett-Mundy, Ilinka Leger, Ivan U. Klyszcz, Jack Gibson, Jack Gill, Jacob Armstrong, Joni Askola, Jules Ortjens, Juliette Bretan, Kalina Esmein, Karolína Šugarová, Kaspar Schultz, Katerina Bogdanova, Kristin Aldag, Krzysztof Lechowski, Laura Kühlert, Levi Bochantin, Logan Hulsey, Louis Train, Lucie Janatová, Ludovica Grossi, Luis Felipe Sauvalle Torres, Luka Jorbenadze, Mahammad Mammadov, Maja Soomagi, Manon Gallet, Margarita Zilinskaya, Marton Gera, Marysia Suchcitz, Maša Šebek, Monika Szafrańska, Naser Bislimi, Nick Baigent, Nikki Lohr, Paulina Adamik, Pavel Hanchuk, Pavlo Cherchatyi, Petronella Dahl, Ricardo Bergmann, Rossana Bernardi, Roxana Chiariac, Sabrina Gafforova, Sasha Mischeriakova, Sofiya Kominko, Solveiga Kalva, Stefan Žarić, Silvia Travasoni, Tadeusz Giczan, Tamara Novel, Tamara Stoffers, Teona Sekhniashvili, Valentin Fabre, Valentina Bernt, Veronika Pfeilschifter, William Dudley, Xhorxhina Molla, Yanyu Chen, Zadig Tisserand